Abandoned House with Strawberry Theme


In the late 1920s, the house was built for the banker Dimitar Ivanov and his wife Nadezhda Stankovic.

The interior features a striking red marble fireplace in the reception hall, a stage for musicians, and crystal glasses on the interior doors.

It boasts several bedrooms, beautiful terraces, a large study, and utility rooms.

Nothing remains of the original furnishings, but it is known that high-ranking citizens from Sofia at that time preferred furniture from Central and Western Europe.

The exterior of the house consists of a large front yard facing the street, separated from the sidewalk by an elegant wrought-iron fence.

A triple staircase leads to the entrance of the house, with special portals for carriages and wagons impressing on both sides of the courtyard.

One can easily imagine how the members of the invited family enter the courtyard of the house through a portal, while the carriages wait in the space behind the house, specially adapted for that purpose.

After the end of the reception, they then leave the courtyard through the other portal.

The family of banker Ivanov lived happily in the house, at least until 1944.

After the war, the property was nationalized and initially served as the seat of the Romanian Embassy.

Later, the house became the trade representation of the USSR in Bulgaria, as well as the headquarters of the administration of various communist structures with unclear purposes.

In the 1990s, the house was restituted and returned to the heirs of the first owner, banker Dimitar Ivanov.

Since 2004, the property has belonged to Lukoil director Valentin Zlatev, who has so far shown no interest in this cultural heritage.

The once beautiful house, which was abandoned for decades, unfortunately, is now in a sad state.